periods / Technology / topical

Eve by Glow: The App Everyone With A Vagina Needs

Do you have trouble tracking your periods? Ever wonder when you’re ovulating? Or just want a sex-savvy app? Eve by Glow is definitely for you.

I’ve got my period unexpectedly so many times in my life that I’m always on the hunt for the perfect period-tracking app. I think I’ve tried almost every one out there and for various reasons I’ve never been 100% happy with them. PinkPad was too buggy and Clue seemed too focused on syncing up with the Apple watch (which I’ll never be able to afford). I had just about given up on finding the right app for me, until I stumbled across Ruby by Glow.

eve-by-glow

Relatively new and currently only available on iOS devices, Eve by Glow (formally known as Ruby by Glow) is primarily a period and ovulation tracking app. However, it’s so much more than that. What I love most about Eve is the fact that it comes with a whole community, too. Girl talk takes on a whole other meaning with the Glow gang; gone are the days when you’re feeling lost and scouring Google for answers in a panic. Whatever the topic, there’s a whole bunch of people willing to answer, right at your fingertips.

With topics such as: sexplanations, birth control and even a controversy corner, Eve by Glow is doing some pretty revolutionary stuff. My mum was great with period talk, but obviously there were some sex-related I didn’t always want to share with her. This is definitely an app I could have used growing up. Some people aren’t as fortunate as I was to grow up in a household where menstruation is discussed in a healthy, shame-free way, which is why I will talk about this app (and my period) to anyone and everyone! Can you imagine what this app will do for young people who feel alone and scared on a monthly basis?

ruby-by-glow

Everything about Eve is perfect. The language is really sex-positive and to the point, with push notifications telling you that you might be feeling frisky when ovulation starts. The app is very easy to use and it even makes tracking your period fun. With an anytime log and animated cycle, you can tell Eve just about anything. You can track your symptoms and have a look at the patterns in your cycle too, which is something I find extremely useful. Other cool features include: Buzzfeed-style quizzes and daily polls you can take part in.

Overall, I can’t fault the app and I’m excited to see how it develops.

 

Leave a Reply

