June 2015: Inspirations

What Inspiration Means To Me

Inspiration – It’s a big word and the meaning varies wildly from person to person. For me, inspiration comes from the little things.

If I am feeling a bit down, it could be something as simple as the dew drops on a flower catching the sun. That moment of beauty reminds me that the world can actually be a pretty good place.

file0001199795839

 

If I am feeling a bit disillusioned with the world around me, something simlpe can remind me of the innocence that can be found all around – if we actually look.

There is so much time and space dedicated to the negative things in the media, that sometimes it’s easy to forget that there is beauty and laughter and happy things in the world.

I think it is important to look for the positives – there is nothing more inspirational than this for me.

When it comes to writing, I find inspiration from reading.  I like to read amazing blogs or good books – not to copy the style or choice of article – but because reading a truly wonderful piece pushes me to be better. Reading inspires me to write better and to deliver more consistently.

As a writer, nothing beats the first time you are walking down a street and something catches your attention. A flash of colour, a few beats of music from the open window of a passing car, a smell or the raindrops on your skin. It could be anything and boom! – that idea that has been eluding in you is there, the words are writing themselves in your head and the world momentarily stops spinning – you must write it now!

It’s a truly amazing feeling and it doesn’t stop there. You publish the post and your readers love it! Your page views fly up and you get a lot of lovely comments and this in turn inspires you to keep it coming.

 

Do you find inspiration in the simple things?

Debbie
Born in 1982 in North East England, I knew from an early age I wanted to be a writer. Life got in the way, and the dream was out on the back burner, although never forgotten. I now write my own blog, write guest posts for other blogs and am planning on completing my first novel by the end of this year!
6 thoughts on “What Inspiration Means To Me

    • Anything that makes you smile can only be a good thing! If something makes you happy, that’s inspiring in its self. Thanks for commenting 🙂
      Debbie

      Like

  1. I totally agree! Inspiration can be found if you are looking. When I’m writing, I try to incorporate the senses – smell and taste are my favourite way to describe something. Sounds and touch can bring the reader into the world – don’t you love it when your reading and you’re sucked into the book straight away! 🙂

    Like

    • Totally agree! It is an amazing feeling when you start reading something and just know you are going to love it! I love writers who incorporate all the senses into their descriptions. Thanks for commenting 🙂
      Debbie

      Like

Leave a Reply

