feminism / social / topical

Here's What's Wrong With The #BlameOneNotAll Movement

So, I’ve just found the “treat” that is the #BlameOneNotAll thread on Twitter.

I get it. Sometimes men get stereotyped. Is it fair? No, but life isn’t fair.

I’m tempted to respond ‘suck it up sweetheart, stop being hysterical’, you know, like the reaction I sometimes get if I say women are stereotyped but I won’t because that would be counterproductive.

It greatly concerns me that a thread not only exists, it is becoming popular for the wrong reasons. It seems for the most part the hashtag is dedicated to men congratulating themselves on not being rapists and/or not sexually harassing women.

Newsflash – that is called being a decent human being!

To anyone who had used the #BlameOneNotAll in a non-ironic way, I ask you this. Have you ever been directly accused of raping a woman because another man did? If you have, I think you have every right to use the hashtag. If you haven’t perhaps you need to get over yourself.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.jsOn a regular basis, as a woman I have been accused of:
– taking sick days from work because I have a period.
– hating all men
– using tears to manipulate men

I have never done any of those things but maybe somewhere a woman has. As a result I am accused of it and am expected just to accept it. Is there a hashtag for this? No. If there was would I use it? No.

Why? Because I don’t think I need to pat myself on the back for not taking sickies, not hating men and not crying on cue!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Of course not all men are the same and they shouldn’t all be blamed for the actions of one man. However, I would like to add that this goes without saying!

The hashtag is providing no purpose except for men to pat each other on the back and celebrate their greatness because they got through the day without victimising anyone.

 

Pass that boy a cookie!

 

Leave a Reply

